Everybody Says Dont - album cover

Mark has been working with renowned musician and producer Geoff Gascoyne on a set of sophisticated reinterpretations of 20th century standards from writers as diverse as Cole Porter and Randy Newman. Geoff says, “Mark’s unaffected tone, warm sound and restrained emotionalism complement the arrangements beautifully.”

"Sparkles with energy ... beautifully performed.  Great songs interpreted with style.  Jennett is a singer who understands and immerses himself in the stories the songs are telling." AllAboutJazz.com

"A welcome release from a singer who thankfully sideswipes the deluge of post Sinatra crooners - yet homage to the great swinging vocal tradition is ever present."  Ian Shaw

The arrangements encompass energetic swing and soulful balladry while embracing a range of styles from gospel and hip hop to bossa nova and even Motown-inflected pop. Coolly updated show tunes rub shoulders with radically altered 60s pop favourites.

As well as being in great demand as a musician, Geoff Gascoyne is well known for his production and arranging work with Jamie Cullum and others. Most recently he produced Jacqui Dankworth’s acclaimed Live To Love album.

The stellar band includes Rob Barron (piano and keys), Geoff Gascoyne (bass), Sebastiaan de Krom (drums) Martin Shaw (trumpet) and Andy Panayi (saxes and flute).

Anita Wardell says - “Mark Jennett is a unique story teller and, regardless of genre of song, his interpretation is always fresh, new and exciting. Wonderful, compelling listening.”

Add to cart

Track list and credits

  1. Everybody Says Don't  
    Stephen Sondheim
  2. Are You There With Another Boy
    Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  3. Wives And Lovers
    Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  4. Some People
    Jule Styne, Stephen Sondheim
  5. There’s Gotta Be Something Better Than This
    Cy Coleman, Dorothy Fields
  6. How Long Has This Been Going On
    George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  7. Just One Of Those Things
    Cole Porter
  8. You've Got To Be Carefully Taught
    Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein
  9. Hurry It's Lovely Up Here
    Burton Lane, Alan Jay Lerner
  10. Oh Look At Me Now
    Joe Bushkin, John Devries
  11. Train In The Distance
    Paul Simon
  12. Mixed Up Guy/Magic Garden
    Jimmy Webb
  13. Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear
    Randy Newman
  14. Slow Boat To China
    Frank Loesser


Mark Jennett (vocal)
Rob Barron (piano, rhodes, wurlitzer, organ)
Geoff Gascoyne (acoustic and electric bass, glockenspiel, organ, synth)
Sebastiaan de Krom (drums)
Martin Shaw (trumpet)
Andy Panayi (tenor saxophone, flute)


Recorded at Clowns Pocket Studios Bexley by Derek Nash, September 2013
Mixed and mastered at Yellow Room by Geoff Gascoyne

Photography: Charlotte Knee (photos.charlotteknee.com)
Cover design: Howard Lester (howardlesterdesigns.com)